A trade license in Dubai is the permit that lets a business operate legally, and the main types are commercial, professional, industrial and tourism, issued either by the Department of Economy and Tourism (DET) for the mainland or by a free zone authority. You apply by choosing your activities, reserving a trade name, getting initial approval and submitting your memorandum of association and premises details. Published fees for the licence itself run from roughly AED 6,000 to AED 50,000 or more depending on type and jurisdiction.
The Dubai trade license is the document everything else depends on: your bank account, your visas, your contracts and your tax registration. Getting the licence type or activity wrong is one of the most common reasons applications stall, so it pays to understand the categories before you apply.
This guide focuses on the licence itself. For the wider picture of structures and tax, see our guide to starting a business in Dubai, and for a full cost breakdown see our business setup cost guide. Here we cover the types, who issues them, the documents, the cost ranges, verification and renewal.
A trade licence authorises a named business to carry out specified activities from a specified location. In Dubai, mainland licences are issued by DET, while each free zone issues its own. The licence lists the legal name, legal form, activities, licence number, expiry date and address. Banks and government departments rely on it as proof that the business exists.
Ownership rules sit behind the licence. The UAE government states that Federal Decree-Law No. 26 of 2020 allows 100% foreign ownership of onshore companies, and that Dubai Economy permits full foreign ownership for more than 1,000 activities, with strategic-impact activities in seven sectors excluded. See the official u.ae page for the current wording.
The names vary slightly between sources, but the main categories are consistent. The table below draws on a May 2026 consultancy overview, so confirm details with DET or your zone before relying on them.
| Licence | What it covers | Key condition |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial | Trading goods, import and export, retail, wholesale | Needs a registered office; one guide says a minimum 200 sq ft |
| Professional | Consulting, IT, marketing, engineering, training and similar services | Premises needs are lighter; may use a local service agent |
| Industrial | Manufacturing, production and processing | Light, medium and heavy tiers; environmental and safety checks for heavy industry |
| Tourism | Travel agencies, tour operators, hotels, entertainment | Joint approval from DET and the tourism authority |
| E-commerce | Online retail and digital sales | E-trader route limited to UAE and GCC nationals; business route for others |
| Freelance | Solo, self-employed professionals | No office required |
| Craft and agricultural | Skilled trades; farming and related | Proof of trade or facility approvals |
The Khaleej Times also describes three routes by process: a normal licence (needs a memorandum of association and a lease), an instant licence for activities needing no external approvals, and an eTrader licence for home-based sole establishments. The eTrader licence is limited, with commercial activities such as trading restricted to UAE and GCC nationals, and food businesses excluded.
A commercial license in Dubai is the licence for buying and selling goods. It suits retailers, wholesalers, importers and exporters. Because you handle physical products, it normally comes with premises requirements and sometimes extra approvals for regulated goods such as food, medicine or chemicals.
Consultancy guides put the DET commercial licence at roughly AED 12,500 to 15,000, excluding activity fees and office rent. Another overview quotes AED 12,000 to 25,000 and says the first-year total with office and other costs can reach AED 28,500 to 103,450. The spread reflects the number of activities, the office, and whether partners and visas are included.
A professional license in Dubai covers services where the value is expertise rather than goods: consultancy, design, marketing, engineering, training and similar work. It is usually the lighter and cheaper option for service firms.
One June 2026 overview quotes AED 12,000 to 25,000 or more depending on jurisdiction and visas. A May 2026 overview gives a fixed fee of AED 10,310 and says professional licences do not need a physical office, using a local service agent rather than a sponsor. These figures conflict, so the actual price for your activity needs confirming with DET.
Some professions are regulated, for example healthcare, legal, education and financial work. They need approval from the sector regulator before the licence is issued, and the approval may be a separate cost. One guide puts regulatory approvals at AED 500 to 3,000 each.
Industrial licences cover production and processing. A May 2026 overview describes light, medium and heavy tiers, with heavy industry requiring environmental and safety compliance. It quotes starting prices of AED 12,000 for light, AED 18,000 for medium and AED 25,000 or more for heavy, with an overall range of AED 18,000 to 50,000 or more. A June 2026 overview describes industrial costs only as higher and variable. Factory premises and industrial certificates are additional.
Tourism licences cover travel agencies, tour operators, hotels and entertainment. They typically need joint approval from DET and the tourism authority, and an office. One overview quotes AED 15,000 to 30,000 and a processing time of 7 to 14 days. A second says the cost is variable plus tourism authority fees.
| Licence | Indicative licence cost (AED) | Processing time quoted |
|---|---|---|
| Commercial | 12,000 to 25,000 | Not stated |
| Professional | Fixed 10,310 (one source); 12,000 to 25,000 or more (another) | Not stated |
| Industrial | 18,000 to 50,000 or more | Not stated |
| Tourism | 15,000 to 30,000 | 7 to 14 days |
| Freelance | 1,800 to 2,000 (7,500 to 20,000 in another source) | About 2 working days |
Where you hold the licence decides where you can trade. A DET licence is a mainland licence. It lets you deal with customers across the UAE, subject to your activity. A free zone licence is issued by the zone authority, and the company is generally restricted from operating outside the zone.
That divide is softening in Dubai. Under Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, summarised by CMS, free zone entities can apply to DET for an onshore branch licence (valid for one year with an AED 10,000 issue or renewal fee) or a temporary permit for up to six months (AED 5,000). DET and any other regulator must approve, and onshore income is generally taxed at 9%. CMS notes its summary is not the resolution text, so check the original.
| Question | DET (mainland) | Free zone |
|---|---|---|
| Who issues the licence? | Dubai DET | The free zone authority |
| Where can you trade? | Across the UAE, per activity | Generally within the zone, plus approved onshore routes |
| Premises | Tenancy contract, usually registered through Ejari | Flexi-desk, coworking or office |
| Typical fit | Retail, trading, local services | Consulting, export, online business |
Requirements depend on the licence route, but the Khaleej Times reports the following for DET mainland applications.
| Stage | Documents |
|---|---|
| Initial approval | Passport or ID copy, unified number, residence permit or visa (non-GCC nationals), sponsor NOC if employed by a mainland company, articles of association where required, sometimes a feasibility study |
| Normal licence | Agency approvals where required, MOA, site lease contract |
| Instant licence | Unified number or ID number |
| eTrader licence | ID number |
| Branch of a foreign company | Parent board resolution, managing director authorisation letter, commercial registration certificate, MOA and trade licence |
Free zones publish their own lists. A typical zone asks for an application form with ultimate beneficial owner details, passport copy, passport photo, Emirates ID and visa copy for UAE residents.
For a mainland licence, DET services are accessed through the Invest in Dubai portal or service centres. The Khaleej Times describes the sequence: initial approval, trade name booking, then the licence application.
The Khaleej Times reports that an instant licence for activities needing no external approvals can be obtained within five minutes, and that holders get a virtual site for the first year and Dubai Chamber membership. Check whether your activity is eligible before planning around it. The Khaleej Times also gives the eTrader licence total as AED 1,370: AED 1,070 for licence, knowledge and innovation fees and AED 300 for Chamber membership, varying by activity.
If you are still choosing a provider to help with this, our guide to business setup consultants in Dubai is a good starting point.
The trade license cost in Dubai has several layers: the licence fee, name and approval fees, premises, and optional services. Two July 2026 consultancy guides give these indicative figures.
| Item | Indicative cost (AED) | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Free zone trade licence | 5,565 to 49,160 | Varies by zone |
| Dubai mainland trade licence | 11,500 to 13,500 | Excludes name approval, initial approval, Tasheel and MOA |
| Mainland licence package | 13,900; 18,750 with one visa | One consultancy price guide |
| Company name reservation | Mainland 620 to 2,000; free zone 500 to 1,500 | Another consultancy blog |
| MOA and notarisation | Mainland 1,500 to 3,000; free zone 1,000 to 2,500 | Consultancy estimate |
| Tenancy registration (Ejari) | 3,000 to 8,000 including minimum rent (one source); 177.75 to 220 for the registration alone (another) | Sources measure different things |
| Flexi-desk (free zone, one year) | 2,000 to 5,000 | One consultancy blog |
These are indicative only. For how the licence fee sits in the whole bill, including visas and bank costs, see our companion guide on business setup cost in Dubai.
A trade licence is normally valid for a year. One May 2026 overview says renewal takes three to five business days and costs 80% to 100% of the original licence fee, while another blog cites 70% to 100%. The same overview quotes a late penalty of AED 250 a day starting after expiry, and warns that long non-renewal can lead to blacklisting and visa revocation. These are single-source claims, so confirm penalties with DET or your zone.
You can verify a mainland licence through the DET website. The Khaleej Times says to go to e-Services, then Licence Information, and search by English or Arabic company name or licence number. The record shows status, expiry date, legal type, contact details, activities and address.
| Situation | What to do |
|---|---|
| Licence nearing expiry | Diarise at least 60 days ahead and prepare updated lease and documents |
| Want to add an activity | Apply for an amendment; check approvals for the new activity |
| Checking a supplier’s licence | Search the DET licence information service or the free zone register |
| Licence expired | Contact the authority immediately to understand penalties |
Once your licence is in hand, you can start marketing. Our guide to Dubai business services collects more local guides.
It is the official permit allowing a business to carry out specified activities from a specified location. Mainland licences are issued by DET and free zone licences by the zone authority. The licence shows the company name, activities, number, expiry date and address, and it is needed for visas, banking and contracts.
The main categories are commercial, professional, industrial and tourism, with further types for e-commerce, freelancers, crafts and agriculture. There are also process routes such as normal, instant and eTrader licences. The right one depends on your activity, not on your preference.
A commercial licence covers trading in goods, such as retail, wholesale and import and export. A professional licence covers services based on expertise, such as consulting, design or training. Professional licences usually have lighter premises requirements, but regulated professions need sector approvals.
Published figures vary. A July 2026 price guide gives AED 11,500 to 13,500 for a mainland licence before name approval and the MOA, and AED 5,565 to 49,160 for free zone licences. Other overviews quote AED 12,000 to 25,000 for commercial licences. Ask for an itemised quote.
Sometimes. Many free zones offer flexi-desks, and one overview says professional licences can work with a virtual arrangement. Mainland commercial licences normally need a leased office. The Khaleej Times says an instant licence can come with a virtual site for the first year.
Renewal is done through DET or your free zone before expiry, with an updated lease and documents. One overview says it takes three to five business days and costs 80% to 100% of the original fee, while another says 70% to 100%. Late penalties may apply, so renew early.
Use the DET website’s licence information service under e-Services. You can search by English or Arabic company name or by licence number, and see status, expiry date, legal type and activities. Free zone companies are checked on the relevant zone’s own register.
Under Executive Council Resolution No. 11 of 2025, free zone entities may apply to DET for an onshore branch licence or a temporary permit, subject to approvals. Costs quoted by CMS are AED 10,000 for a branch and AED 5,000 for a temporary permit. Details may evolve, so check with DET.